Blogmas Day 8 2015: Books To Read This Christmas

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me!

Today I have a very l o n g post for you and it is a selection of books I would recommend you to read this Christmas. As you will be able to see as you carry on reading there are a lot of books and I don’t expect you to read them all, but I think it would be really great if you do read at least one as reading is really good for your brain. I’ve spent a lot of time planning, photographing and writing this blog post, so I really hope you enjoy it.
Here you are…

image

 

So here we have realistic fiction/contemporaries. If you enjoy reading Jennifer Niven or John Green, I think you will really enjoy these.
Firstly, there are two books by Jandy Nelson. They are both amazing and you are really missing out if you don’t read these two FANTASTIC books. The Sky Is Everywhere is about a girl called Lennie…okay I’m not very good at describing books without giving the plot away so here is the blurb. “Lennie Walker, seventeen, Wuthering Heights obsessed, clarinet player, band geek. Also hopeless romantic, prone to scattering poems all over town and as of four weeks ago, sisterless…” This is such an amazing book and I couldn’t put it down. As you have read from the blurb, she scatters poems over town. These poems are photographed and are put in the book. I really like this as it makes it much more interactive.

The second book, which is called I’ll Give You The Sun is a New York Times Best Seller. The blurb says, “Jude and her twin Noah are close until a tragedy drives them apart. Now they are barely speaking – and both falling for boys they can’t have. Love’s complicated.” As a bonus to this book, the page edges are yellow and inside the book it is very creative as it looks like someone has spilt in the corners and doodled all over it.

Next we have Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. First of all can we just appreciate Rainbow’s name – it is so cool, and so is the book. It is about a writer, so instantly there is a connection between me and the main protagonist there. It has been recommended by people such as John Green. The blurb reads as follows, “Cath and Wren are identical twins and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair anymore – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She would rather bury herself in her fan-fiction she writes where there’s romance far more intense than anything she has experienced in real life. Now Cath has to decide whether she is ready to open her heart up to new people and new experiences, and she’s realising that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible…”

I’m sure as bloggers that you are all aware of the author of the next book. It is Girl Online by Zoe Sugg (Zoella). I feel I have a close connection with this book as I too blog anonymously. The blurb reads, “Penny has a secret. Under the alias of Girl Online, Penny blogs her hidden feelings about friendship, boys, her crazy family and the panic attacks that have begun to take over her life. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets Noah: a gorgeous, guitar strumming American. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog. But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closet friendship – forever.” This was an amazing book and although I saw where the plot was going at times, I was totally surprised by other parts. A definite read for over Christmas as it is a fairly easy read and takes no time at all to finish.

image

Then we have the City Of Bones book by Cassandra Clare. This is a fantasy novel and I really enjoyed reading it. I was slightly put off by the size of the novel at first, but as soon as I started reading it, that idea flew out of my mind as it is an amazing read. It is the first book in The Mortal Instruments series and is a sequel to the Infernal Devices series . Together the Infernal Devices series and the Mortal Instruments series create the Shadow Hunter Chronicles. The blurb is short on this one (Phew! Less to type out for me!) and it says’ “Clary Fray is seeing things: vampires in Brooklyn and werewolves in Manhattan. Irresistibly drawn the Shadowhunters, a secret group of warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons, Clary discovers the dark side of New York City – and the dangers of forbidden love. This is a gripping novel and I loved it snd her writing style.

I’m sure you have heard of the next author too. It is the Harry Potter series by J.K.Rowling. This series was my childhood and they really inspired me to write. I took a picture of the last book in the series as it went with the other books in the series, but obviously you would start with the first book first. I am sure you all know the rough story line so I won’t bore you with the blurb for this one.

Next is another well known novel – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Colins. I love the trilogy and read them in a week. I really enjoyed them as it is such a unique idea and O had never read anything like it before. The blurb reads, “May the odds be ever in your favour. Winning will make you famous. Losing means certain death. In a dark vision of the near future, twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live TV show called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed. When sixteen year old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.” This is such a gripping trilogy and I didn’t want to read anything else until I was finished.

Then there is the Scorch Trials by James Dashner which is book two in the Maze Runner series. I do own all the books, but this is the only book I have in me as all the others are on loan to my friends. I told them that they had to read the series as it is so good. Also, lots of them wanted to read them after they saw the two films that are out. The books are about a boy called Thomas and his friends who are put in a series of tests to prepare them to save the world. However, they want to do it their own way and escape and come across many challenges or people who have been ‘scorched’ on the way. This is a phenomenal series and definitely worth the read.

image

I really wanted to include a Michael Morpurgo book as he was one of my favourite authors when growing up and depending on your age, you could read this to yourself or a younger sibling. The book I chose to include was The Sleeping Sword. However, all his books are amazing and I especially love Kensuke’s Kingdom, War Horse and The Wreck of Zanzibar. The blurb says, “Bun Bendle stumbles one day into an underground tomb containing a shield and a beautiful, ancient sword. As he touched the hilt, his whole body is gripped by an incredible, centuries old power. It is a power that will change Bun’s life forever.” As well as it being an amazing story, I like how Morpurgo included blindness as one of the key themes. I think it really creates awareness of thr difficulties of being blind and after reading this book I saw it from a completely new perspective.

Following on from that we have Roof Toppers from Katherine Rundell. Apart from the amazing cover it was what Phillip Pullman said about the author that drew me into this book. Pullman said, “A writer with an utterly distinctive voice and a wild imagination.” The Guardian said it was, “Extraordinary”, and it is also the winner of The Blue Peter Book Award and The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. Enough of me rambling on about all the awards it has won, it’s about time for me to tell you what it is about…”Wanted: a mother. Everyone tells Sophie that she was orphaned in a shipwreck. But Sophie is convinced that her mother also survived. When no-one believes her, Sophie sets out to prove them wrong. On the run from the authorities, Sophie finds Matteo – a boy who walks tightropes and lives in the sky. In a race across the rooftops of Paris, will they be able to find her mother, before it’s too late?” This is a beautiful story and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Rundell’s writing style is so unique and cool.

Next we have a book which was a winner of the Carnegie Medal. It is The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge. As soon as I heard that J.K.Rowling ‘absolutely adored The Little White Horse’ I knew I had to read it. There was no question about it! It is a truly magical story filled with gripping and romantic parts. As the Times said, ‘It is a gem of a book’. The blurb states (oh gosh that word sounds so posh and formal!), “Maria Merryweather, a stranger to Moonacre, is fascinated by the mysterious story of the long-lost Moon Princess and the magical little white horse. Before long she is determined to restore peace and happiness to the valley. And Maria usually gets her way…”

Finally we have a bit more of a grown up book for a mature reader. This book really made me think about what I would do if I was in a situation that Fiona Maye was in. It is a truly heartbreaking book and is fascinating for someone who is interested in the law and wants to become a judge or a lawyer. The blurb reads, “Fiona Maye, a leading High Court Judge, renowned for her fierce intelligence and sensitivity, is called on to try an urgent case. For religious reasons, a seventeen year old boy is refusing the medical treatment that could save his life. Time is running out. She visits the boy in hospital – an encounter which stirs long-buried feelings in her and powerful new feelings in the boy. But it is Fiona who must ultimately decide whether he lives or dies and her judgement will have momentous consequences for them both.” Personally, I would rate this book as a 15-16+ book and certainly wouldn’t go lending it to a thirteen year old. It contains a lot of issues for mature readers and I feel that in your early teens (13-14) you wouldn’t understand the novels hidden messages and it wouldn’t have the desired effect on you. I don’t mean to sound condescending, but it simply isn’t appropriate for younger readers.

So there you have it – my extremely long, rambly post on my favourite books that I think you should read this Christmas. I would love to hear if you are going to read any of these in the comments and please comments down below if you managed to read the whole post – I shall be very impressed with your perseverance! I can not belive that I have just posted a blog post that is over two thousand words long. That is crazy! At least this shows you how much I love you all. I hope you have found a book here that you will read this Christmas.

Until next time, goodbye

9 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 8 2015: Books To Read This Christmas

  1. I’ve been wanting to read Fan Girl for SO long now! My blog is mostly beauty related so you wouldn’t think this of me, but I am a massive book lover and so I am loving your blog!! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Aimee! Thank you so much for your lovely comment. You should definitely read Fangirl over Christmas. It is an amazing book and you’ll find that you’ll read it very quickly. It’s so addictive. Rainbow Rowell has just published her new book called Carry On. It is the fanfiction that is written by Cath and it is also really good. Happy Blogging! p.s. I will go and check your blog out xx

      Like

    1. You really should! They are both phenomenal. I don’t usually read a book more than once but these two a few of my exceptions. Happy Blogging! P.S. Congratulations if you read the whole two thousand words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

