Ziggy Stardust

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me,

Music will never be the same. I was heartbroken this morning to discover that cancer had taken David Bowie’s (aka Ziggy Stardust’s) life. I have posted some pictures on Instagram about the sad loss of an amazing artist, but not all of you follow me on there so I thought I would also write about him on my blog. I was going to post something else today, but I feel this is far much more important.

I have no idea how to start because no matter what I write, it will never be enough. No matter what I write, I will never be able to sum up how brilliant he was. So I guess I’ll start with some of his words rather than mine.

image

He definitely was not boring. His songs captured the heart of my nation and many other nations too. One of my teachers said today, ‘If you have not listened to a David Bowie song before today then you have missed out.’ This is so true. If you have never listened to a Bowie song then you can not call yourself a lover of music.

Most of his songs are based around the theme of space. Space Oddity and Life On Mars are my two favourite space songs of his, but I loved them all.

He was so influential and inspired many generations. He taught us that being different and unique is okay – in fact better than following the crowds. His sense of style was amazing and he was so bold and daring with his fashion choices. His album covers were also so unique and yes, I am primarily talking about this one…

image

His song lyrics were perfection and so were all of his songs from Space Oddity to Life On Mars and of course who could forget a little bit of ch…ch…ch…changes! The music world has certainly changed now and it will never go back.

He released his last album on 8th January 2016. Two days before his death. It is such a shame that we will never be able to hear more of his creative talent again. The BBC have written an article on his final album here and it is definitely worth a read.

I love ALL of his songs, but I thought I would end this post with a few of my favourite lines. They are not necessarily the most meaningful, but I just love them.

‘This is ground control to Major Tom’

‘It’s time to leave the capsule if you dare’

‘Star Man waiting in the sky’

‘Ch…ch…ch…changes’

‘I’m happy. Hope you’re happy too’

 

Until next time, goodbye

 

 

Leave a Reply

