Summer Book Haul 2016

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me,

It is impossible for me to walk into a bookshop without purchasing a book and recently I have been accumulating quite a few books, so I thought I would share them with you today. I have read quite a few of these already and will be talking about them in my MWU very soon. If you want to see my June and July MWU, click here. Enjoy!

***

‘A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The Man who never reads only lives one.’ – George RR Martin

***
image1 (1).JPG

***

The first three books I picked up in The Works in a 3 for £5 deal. They were Billy and Me, Alice and the Fly and Eleanor and Park. I picked up Billy and Me after a friends recommendation. I picked Eleanor and Park up as I love Rainbow Rowell’s books…and finally, I picked up Alice and the Fly because it looked interesting.

I have already read Billy and Me, so I will talk about my opinions on it in my MWU. However, I will give you a synopsis of the book. It follows Sophie May who works in her local village tea shop with Molly. Molly is a loveable old lady who is friendly, kind and warm. In her village a film company is shooting a movie and she meets actor Billy Buskin in the tea shop. They start to get to know each other and become closer. The book follows the ups and downs of their relationship and fame.

I have also read Eleanor and Park which is told in dual narrative and set in the 80’s. It follows Eleanor and Park who meet on their school bus. They bond over music and comics. It deals with body image, race, social class and poverty in a realistic,  but sensitive way. It warms your heart, but also tears it apart at the same time. I loved learning more about the 80’s culture when it came to the comics as I only knew about the music before. I really enjoyed hearing some of my favourite bands mentioned in it.

The last book I bought in the 3 for £5 deal was Alice and the Fly by James Rice. I’ve never heard anything about the book before, but it really interested me. The blurb doesn’t give a great insight into the book, but it certainly wanted to make me buy the book. I am going to start this book soon, so I will let you know what I think of it then. I will probably talk about it in my September Wrap Up.

***

The next book I purchased was Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I read this as and ebook last summer and have been meaning to purchase it ever since. When I read an ebook that I really enjoy I always like to buy it in physical form to add to my bookcase. Therefore, I was over the moon when I saw it on sale for £3.99. Bargain! The book follows Maddie who  has a weak immune system and is extremely allergic to the world. Doctors don’t know what she is allergic of, so she has to stay in her house and can’t interact with others. The only two people she interacts with are her Mum and nurse Carla. However, this is before Ollie moves in next door. She becomes intrigued about him and they send emails back and forth. The book follows the two of them getting to know each other. I really liked how you can see the emails they write and the things Maddie draws in the book. It made it really interactive and fun to read. I read this book as I was in  a bit of a reading slump and knew I could devour this book in 2-3 hours. It did the job and got be out of my reading slump perfectly.

***

The last three books are classics which I purchased from a charity shop. I really want to get into reading more classics, so I picked up Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte; Persuasion by Jane Austen; and Emma by Jane Austen. I don’t really know a lot about these books, but I know they are a lot of people’s firm favourite, so I really want to give them a read.

***

image1 (1)

***

So there you have it, these are all the books I have purchased recently. Let me know in the comments if you have any of these and what you thought of them. I would also love to know what books you have bought recently, so I know I’m not alone in this book buying obsession aha!

***

Happy Blogging! xx

4 thoughts on “Summer Book Haul 2016

    1. I’ve read the start of Emma and Persuasion, but never finished them. I really liked them both, but I just didn’t have the time to commit into them when I was reading them. I’m hoping to pick them back up soon. As for Northanger Abbey & Sense and Sensibility, I don’t know. Happy Blogging! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

