Collabmas Day 5 2016: My Favourite Books Released In 2016

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me,

Today I am collaborating with Bella, who is one of my favourite blogging friends. She recently launched a new blog, which is amazing I might add, so make sure you go and check it out after reading this post. You can find her blog here. Today we are sharing with you are favourite books we’ve read that were released in 2016. Here are mine – enjoy!


image1-9

First of all we have Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell. Here in the UK each year, Macmillan releases six novellas for World Book Day – usually 3 for younger readers and 3 for older readers. The books are one pound each and all under 100 pages. In schools we get given book tokens and we can spend the token on one of the six books and get it for free. Back in March I picked up Kindred Spirits and was saving it for my holiday. It was a really fun read about a Star Wars obsessed girl called Elena who is waiting in line by the cinema for the next Star Wars movie. Her father told her the stories of when he queued up as a child. However, this queue doesn’t live up to her expectations. There are only two other people in the queue. This book doesn’t have much of a plot, but it does have a moral story in it which you discover towards the end. It isn’t a bad thing that it doesn’t have much of a storyline and I would read it again.

image3-6

Next up we have I’ll Be Home For Christmas which is a UKYA book which contains a collection of short stories and poetry from the UK’s leading Young Adult authors on the theme of home. I am currently doing mock exams and revision has been eating away at my revision time. For my method I follow the Pomodoro Technique which is where you study for 25 minites and then have a 5 minute break. I have been reading some of them in my five minuite breaks. I loved Benjamin Zephaniah’s poem and Non Pratt’s story. I also really loved Holly Bourne’s, Juno Dawson’s and Lisa Williamson’s. It was great to read more from Holly Bourne and Lisa Williamson as I have read some of their other work and really enjoyed it. I have also read a few others, but those were my favourites. I can’t wait to read some more.

Then we have Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven. All The Bright Places was one of my favourite books of 2015, so it’s not really a surprise that Holding Up The Universe is in my 2016 favourites. It follows Jack who has prosopagnosia (not being able to recognise faces) and Libby who was the fattest teen in America. Now Libby has lost over half of the weight and is going back to school. The book follows both their journeys and their struggles in school and how as the book progresses their paths meet and their friendship formed. I found the parts of the book when Jack was describing how he couldn’t recognise his own brother very hard hitting and it really put it into perspective about what it must be like to have prosopagnosia. I love like with All The Bright Places Jennifer Niven included a personal element to it. It made the story so much better. This book was amazing. I didn’t love it as much as All The Bright Places, but I still gave it a 5/5*’s on Goodreads as it was phenomenal and poignant.

Now I know you’ve heard be talk about this book 100 times before, but I’m going to mention it again. At the start of the year Sara Barnard released Beautiful Broken Things. Earlier in this post I talked about Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell. In the back of it was a chapter sampler for Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard, which I really enjoyed, so I picked up a full copy of Beautiful Broken Things as soon as possible and read it in June. The novel is told from Caddy’s perspective and she goes to a private school for girls in Brighton. She is best friends with Rosie, who goes to public school. They have been friends for as long as they can remember, but this year their friendship is tested. In the opening chapters Caddy tells us her milestones she wants to reach before her next birthday are: to get a boyfriend; to lose her virginity; and to experience a significant life event. However, she sets these milestones before she meets Suzanne, who has just joined Rosie’s school. When Suzanne arrives, Rosie spends all her time with Suzanne and Caddy feels jealous about their friendship. It is not until Suzanne confides in Caddy that they begin to come close. I am so glad that I read this book as it isn’t often you find a Young Adult book purely about friendship. It was beautiful, devastating, heart wrenching and insightful. I thought it was brilliant how the story was told from Caddy’s perspective because although what Suzanne went through affected her, it also affected her friends. Sara Barnard is an amazing author who doesn’t sugarcoat mental health or friendship. This book is so relatable, funny and truthful.

image2-10

The first book I read in May was The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood. I’m going to be completely honest here and admit that this was a cover buy. I saw it in Waterstones and instantly knew I had to pick it up. At the stand I then discovered that the page edges are pink with white numbers. The design is exquisite and it looks stunning in my bookcase. The book is about a girl called Gottie (Margot) who lives in Norfolk and is 17. It is the Summer Holidays and one year since her Grandfather’s death. Last summer when her Grandad died, she was going out with Jason, who is her older brother’s (Ned) friend. However, their relationship was a secret and didn’t work out. Also, five summers ago when Gottie was twelve her best friend Thomas moved away to Canada and never contacted her. He’s back for the summer and has a secret. I thought this book was going to be your classic contemporary read, but it is so much more than that. There is a lot of science in this book with mathematical diagrams explaining wormholes and time travel, for these are two of the key parts of the novel. For the book to make sense, you really have to pay attention to the science and keep it in mind throughout the story. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to you.

We then have another recently finished book, which is The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee which is set in 2118 in a 1000 story tower. The higher up you are the richer you are. The upper floords ar ehome to the rich, beautiful and ruthless. On the top floor is Avery Fuller who is a genetically-designed person who has the perfect penthouse life. She has it all, yet she is tormented by the one thing she can never have. Lies, betrayals and secret liaisons culminate in a scandal that ensares everyone and when you’re that high up, there’s nowhere to go but down. I really liked how the book followed 5 different characters who are all on different levels of the tower as we could see their individual stories, but also how they were all affective. This books is so mysterious and that is one of the reasons why I loved it. It is the perfect dystopian and a must read for fans of We Were Liars – it’s even better!

We then have Girl Online Going Solo by Zoe Sugg which is the third book in the Girl Online series. This book follows Penny as she is living life without Noah and trying to find her own style and touch in photography. I really liked the way anxiety was portrayed in this novel along with the blog posts. I also liked the representation of friendship in this novel and the inclusion of LGBTQ+ characters and showing conflicts between parents and children over these issues. It was the perfect cosy read and I read it in a matter of hours.

And last but certainly not least, we have Born To Run by Bruce Springsteen. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this over the past few weeks. I found it really interesting to hear about the life of a person who’s music I have listened to my whole life. It was fascinating to hear about life when he was growing up, his family members and how he came to be the person and success he is now. It had some really funny moments in this and I loved reading it knowing the history of America (Vietnam War etc.) and being able to link the times to the book. This is my favourite non-fiction book I have ever read. I know – big statement!

image4-5


So there you have it, those are my favourite books that were released in 2016. Let me know in the comments if we share any favourites and what books that have come out this year that you’ve enjoyed. Also, let me know if you now want to read any of these books. Don’t forget to go and check out Bella’s post and I’ll be back here with another post tomorrow.

Happy Blogging! xx

10 thoughts on “Collabmas Day 5 2016: My Favourite Books Released In 2016

  1. OMG I LOVED THIS POST! I have been looking at so many post about good books because I have been looking for books to get for Christmas and your post was soooooo helpful and I all of the books sound really interesting! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you found this post useful. You’re comment has brought joy to my evening which is a 6 hour revision session – mock exams are so fun (not). I’m really looking forward to our collab. Happy Blogging! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

