Collabmas Day 7 2016: Purple Books To Read This Christmas

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me,

Today I am collaborating with Sprinkle Of My World and we are going to be sharing with you books to read this Christmas with a certain colour spine, like I did in the Summer with blue books. This time I am going to be recommending you books with purple spines. Make sure you go and check her post out after reading this one. You can find her blog here.


image2 (12).JPG

First of all I want to recommend to you The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge which I read when I was 10 or 11 and the story has always stuck with me. The book follows Maria Merryweather who has arrived at Moonacre and is fascinated by the mysterious story of the long lost Moon Princess and the magical little white horse. After hearing the story she is determined to restore peace and happiness to the valley. It is such a magical book and I fell in love with Maria. She is an amazing, feisty heroine. I have just lent this to my sister and she is loving it so far. A perfect book to read to your younger siblings this Christmas.

Next up is If I Stay by Gale Forman. This follows Mia who plays the cello and falls in love with Adam who plays the guitar. They’ve spent the past year together, but now they have broken up. The book starts on a snow day and Mia and her family are going to visit some family friends. They are involved in a car accident and Mia is in a coma. The book goes through all the memories Mia has had in her life. I loved this book so much. It had some really funny elements, like when Mia and Kim put there school on Ebay. I also really liked the way Mia and Kim’s friendship was presented in this book. A perfect read to curl up with under a blanket on a cold day.

Then we have All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. Now you might be thinking, the spine of that book is blue. Yes, you are correct, but it was in the Zoella Book Club where they altered the covers and spines slightly and I am not going to miss an opportunity to recommend you one of my favourite books. This book is told in dual perspective by Violet and Finch. They come from two very different friend groups, but then they meet on the top of their school bell tower as they are both thinking of jumping to commit suicide. They form an unlikely friendship and work on a Geography project together discovering the wonders of Indiana. Although they go to many places, my favourite parts were the Dr Seuss bit and the gravity part on top of the Purina Tower. This book is beautifully written and talks about mental illness in a really delicate way. Lots of my friends have read this book after hearing how much I loved it and they all really enjoyed it too. The emotions the characters expressed in the book all felt so real and Jennifer’s descriptions were exquisite. The book was heart-wrenching, devastating, poignant, honest, but also lovely. If you have read the book you’ll know what I mean about ‘lovely’ *winks*. I am also really excited for her new book Holding Up The Universe to come out and also for the All The Bright Places movie which has Elle Fanning playing Violet. This is one of those books which you find yourself thinking about it long after you have read it and for me that’s what makes an excellent book.

image2-12

Then we have Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix. I absolutely love reading fantasy in the winter and what better fantasy book to read other than Harry Potter. Please skip this paragraph if you haven’t read the first 4 books as it contains spoilers. This book is the 5th in the series and follows Harry’s story after Voldemort returned in the last book. This book has of the best evil characters in it – Dolores Umbridge – and is also really funny as a result of Fred and George’s new business. It also features Christmas Day in it, so definitely a perfect book to read over the festive period.

Finally we Girl Online On Tour by Zoe Sugg which is the 2nd book in the Girl Online series. This follows Penny, who has the blog Girl Online, as she goes on tour with Noah around Europe as he is the support act for The Sketch. We follow Penny on her journey dealing with her anxiety and panic attacks and dealing with life on tour. My favourite parts in this book were the blog posts and when she was talking about her anxiety. I thought it was a very realist portrayal of anxiety and it will help lots of readers. This is such a quick read and I read it in a couple of hours. The writing is very easy to understand and the book appeals to a wide audience of readers.

image1 (11).JPG


So there you have it, those where the purple books that I think you should read this Christmas. Let me know in the comments if you have read any of these and what you thought of them or if you now want to read them. I’d also love to know your favourite books with purple spines. Make sure you go and check out Sprinkle Of My World’s post.

Happy Blogging! xx

4 thoughts on “Collabmas Day 7 2016: Purple Books To Read This Christmas

Leave a Reply

