Collabmas Day 8 2016: Dissapointing Books I Have Read This Year

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me,

Today I am collaborating with the lovely Sareena and we are sharing with you the most dissapointing books we have read this year. Make sure you go and read her post after this one. You can find her great blog here. Before I begin I would just like to say that these are my opinions and I am in no way being rude to the authors or trying to offend you if you have read these books. We all interpret books in different ways and these books weren’t for me. Enjoy!


image2 (13).JPG

First of all we have we have Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher. It follows Sophie May who works in her local village tea shop with Molly. Molly is a loveable old lady who is friendly, kind and warm. In her village a film company is shooting a movie and she meets actor Billy Buskin in the tea shop. They start to get to know each other and become closer. The book follows the ups and downs of their relationship and fame.  I disliked how the book built up this big secret that Sophie May was keeping, but when the secret Sophie May was keeping  was revealed didn’t seem so big that she couldn’t take her life outside of her village when she was eighteen. I also didn’t think it was very realistic.

Next up is the book that  I have most recently finished and that was The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. This book follows Lily and Dash who have been in a relationship for a year. However, their relationship is falling apart as a result of Lily feeling down and feeling like there is a constant pressure to look after her Grandad. It is now just weeks before Christmas and she has lost her Christmas spirit, so Dash and Lily’s brother set off to try and find the Christmas spirit in her and her bright & bubbly spirit in general. This book fell a bit flat for me. I didn’t feel like the dual narrative worked effectively. Each chapter felt like a different book that didn’t have a conclusive ending. Although there were some beautifully written parts, some of the writing was quite clunky. It also didn’t feel very festive. I also had a huge problem with the ending of the book. It didn’t feel very conclusive and if the book was any longer I don’t think I would have continued on reading it.

Then we have Paper Towns by John Green. I was really dissapointed with this book as I loved Looking For Alaska by John Green. I think he is a bit of a hit or miss author with me as I didn’t like The Fault In Our Stars either. Paper Towns follows Q who lives across from Margo who was his childhood friend. Now they no longer speak until one night Margo climbs through Q’s window and enlists him on a night’s worth of revenge to get back at people. Then in the morning, she has dissapeard. This book follows Q and his friends trying to find Margo. Right from the first sentence I couldn’t get into it. There wasn’t much of a plot and it was a bit drib drab. I also found the ending very dissapointing. I thought it was very absurd and followed a generic writing pattern. The metaphors were not executed well at all. I found that Q was very self absorbed and I didn’t like the messages portrayed in this book.

Finally we have The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward.  In the US and Canada it is called Madly. I hadn’t read this book before, so I was very excited to pick it up. The book is set in Nova and the Princess accidentally drinks a love potion that she meant for somebody else. She falls in love with her reflection. The nation call a hunt to find the cure, which is where our protagonist Samantha comes in. Her family are alchemists and used to the most respected alchemists in the kingdom before they fell on hard times. If Samantha can find the cure then it would save their reputation. Samantha goes on the quest and is trying to find the cure before the megapharma company ZoroAster does. One part of this book that I really liked was that the quest was publicised on social media. I had never seen that in a fantasy novel before and therefore I thought the book was up to date and really modern. It was a really nice premise. The part the book fell short in was the characters. I felt the characters were very one dimensional, especially the villain, who didn’t really live up to the title. In addition, as Evelyn falls in love with herself it could be seen as a LGBTQ+ issue. Her family are trying desperately hard to cure her as they don’t like the new her. It makes the entire perception of normality questioned, which was one of the biggest problems I had with the book.

image1-12


So there you have it. Those are my most dissapointing books of 2016. Let me know in the comments what books you have read this year that have let you down. Also, don’t forget to go and check out the lovely Sareena’s post. You can find her great blog here.

Happy Blogging! xx

6 thoughts on “Collabmas Day 8 2016: Dissapointing Books I Have Read This Year

    1. That’s one of the things I love about books. Everyone reads and interprets them in different ways. That’s what makes them so special. Happy Blogging! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

