Collabmas Day 12 2016: Things I Have Learnt This Year

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me,

Today I am collaborating with Drina. She will be posting her half of our collab a little while after the 12th, so keep and eye out on her NEW blog, which I love. Today I am going to be sharing with you all the things I have learnt this year. Enjoy!


img_0306

(1) ‘We can get better because we’re not dead yet.’

This is a song lyric of a song which has really helped me these past few years. This year it has been what I’ve lived by. Things still aren’t perfect, but this year has been a turning point in the fact that I have started to rebuild and have been having more positive days.

(2) I am a country girl and that’s where I belong

I was born and raised in the country and for the past few years I have felt quite disconnected and disjointed here. This year I have been to many different cities and it’s made me realise the countryside is where I belong. As much as I love being in a city for a short period of time, long term it’s not for me. I am a person who needs to get their hands filthy with mud and have their walking boots soaked from the rain outside the front door. Nature is one of the key things that inspires me and my creativity. In the city there isn’t enough of it.

IMG_0600.JPG

(3) Sometimes relatives you see all the time feel so far removed

I don’t really want to go into this one as it is quite personal, but I want it here on my blog as it is how I feel and one of the key things I have learnt this year. If you can relate to the point, you’ll understand what I mean.

(4) School isn’t a real education

In my early teen years 12-early 14 I wrote a lot of poetry. The majority of the time, nothing you write at that age is any good. I remember reading some it back a few months ago and in among the badly written lines there were a few gems. School and government are in bed together was one of them. I read that and I still agree with it so much. By my age I know what I want to do. I don’t want to sit in Biology when I could be working on what I really want to do. I have the skills I need. They’re keeping my friends and I in school for another 2 and 1/2 years so they don’t need to worry about the fact that we might not find jobs. Or we could be homeless. Or there are so many people and not enough jobs. School is a facade and I can see through it. A real education is being hands on and learning from your surroundings and nature.

IMG_0534.JPG

(5) Skimming stones with my Dad is still one of the best things ever

This one is pretty self explanatory. I love the sea and I love my Dad. The two of them combined with us connected by skimming stones is the best and most uplifting feeling ever.

(6) We all have bad days.

Bad days are okay as long as you don’t let them keep coming and do nothing about it. Bad days are okay if you try to have more good days than bad. Bad days are good if they teach you something.

IMG_1712.JPG

(7) Your age doesn’t define you

I have become increasingly aware of this these past few months. Firstly, your mental age and your physical age are totally different. Your age doesn’t take away your capabilities or opportunities either. A 70-something year old can still party until 2am just like a 20 year old would. A 40-something year old can still produce ‘cool’ and ‘trendy’ music just like musicians who are 25. Don’t let your age be the definitive factor when you are making a decision.

(8) My opinions are important

I am very opinionated on pretty much any topic you throw at me. Growing up I feel younger children’s voices are shushed by society. This year I’ve learnt that MY VOICE WON’T BE SILENCED. As I have become older my opinions have been listened to more, but I still find people older than me who are stuck in their ways and won’t listen to what the youth have to say. But I am going to keep on talking because being silent doesn’t achieve anything.

img_1485

(9) You don’t find yourself, you build yourself

I touched on this earlier in this post. There is no defining moment where you go, ‘Aha! I know who I am. I’ve found myself.’ You are not hiding down the back of the sofa or on a sunbed in Spain waiting to be found. You build yourself to be who you want yourself to be and you are never finished. You are constantly changing. That’s good. You’re constantly adding new parts and trashing old parts of you. You are constantly changing your opinions and your hobbies. There is no way you can find yourself and stay like that for the rest of your life.

(10) Pretentious people really annoy me

It’s what the label has just told you. Pretentious people really annoy me. I’ve know this for a long time, but this year I have been given large pieces of evidence to back this up with. I can’t stand people who have a sense of entitlement and think that they are better than everyone else. We’re all in this together. Money or follower/subscriber numbers doesn’t change that.


So there you have it, those are ten things I have learnt this year. Let me know in the comments if you are enjoying Collabmas and what the most important thing you have learnt this year. We’ve also learnt from this post that I can’t avoid taking pictures of flowers with the sea behind them with a low aperture to blur out the background…oh well I guess some things never change.

Happy Blogging! xx

6 thoughts on “Collabmas Day 12 2016: Things I Have Learnt This Year

Leave a Reply

