Collabmas Day 16 2016: Book Rainbows

Welcome Back To A Day In The Life Of The Anonymous Me,

Today I am collaborating with my good friend Millie, who I’ll have known for a year in January…that’s crazy! I feel like I have known her for so much longer than that. Make sure you go check out her post after this one. Last Blogmas I did a Book Rainbow post, so I thought it was only suiting to do one this year as well. Enjoy!


IMG_0423.JPG

First up we have Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J.K.Rowling. If you haven’t read books 1-5, skip this paragraph as I don’t want to spoil it for you. In this book Harry starts his 6th year at Hogwarts and becomes a lot closer to Dumbledore and embarks on a mission to kill Voldemort. In this book everything deepens and darkens, whilst Harry also becomes a lot more mature. This book is funny, magical and gives you such a warm feeling when you read it. The world building is phenomonal and the characters are so well developed. If you close your eyes you can picture The Three Broomsticks in your head. If you are going to read the Harry Potter series  at any point, Christmas is a great time to start, under a blanket and with a cup of (insert your beverage of choice).

Then we have Going Solo by Roald Dahl, which is his autobiography of his later years (Boy is his first one).You discover what life was like as a World War Two pilot. We also follow his journey on the SS Mantola on his journey to Africa at 22. He isn’t just a great writer, he is a great person and that is what makes him so good at writing. I found it really interesting to read about the life of the man who wrote the children’s books I loved. It is a remarkable account of a remarkable portion of a remarkable life.

For yellow, we have The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee, which is set in 2118 in a 1000 story tower. The higher up you are the richer you are. The upper floords are home to the rich, beautiful and ruthless. On the top floor is Avery Fuller who is a genetically-designed person who has the perfect penthouse life. She has it all, yet she is tormented by the one thing she can never have. Lies, betrayals and secret liaisons culminate in a scandal that ensares everyone and when you’re that high up, there’s nowhere to go but down. I really liked how the book followed 5 different characters who are all on different levels of the tower as we could see their individual stories, but also how they were all affected. This books is so mysterious and that is one of the reasons why I loved it. It is the perfect dystopian and a must read for fans of We Were Liars – it’s even better!

Green is next and I have chosen a book that you are all probably really tired of me raving about. It’s The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood. I’m going to be completely honest here and admit that this was a cover buy. I saw it in Waterstones and instantly knew I had to pick it up. At the stand I then discovered that the page edges are pink with white numbers. The design is exquisite and it looks stunning in my bookcase. The book is about a girl called Gottie (Margot) who lives in Norfolk and is 17. It is the Summer Holidays and one year since her Grandfather’s death. Last summer when her Grandad died, she was going out with Jason, who is her older brother’s (Ned) friend. However, their relationship was a secret and didn’t work out. Also, five summers ago when Gottie was twelve her best friend Thomas moved away to Canada and never contacted her. He’s back for the summer and has a secret. I thought this book was going to be your classic contemporary read, but it is so much more than that. There is a lot of science in this book with mathematical diagrams explaining wormholes and time travel, for these are two of the key parts of the novel. For the book to make sense, you really have to pay attention to the science and keep it in mind throughout the story. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to you.

Blue was a hard choice as there are soooo many blue books that I love. To hear some more blue book recommendations, check out this blog post I did in the Summer. However, for this post I decided to go with one of my favourite books from this year and one of the most impactful. This book recently came out in paperback and both end papers are covered in reviews from people all raving about it. Authors such as Lauren James (The Next Together), Phillip Pullman (The Northern Lights) and James Dawson (This Book is Gay) have all praised this book and I can totally see why. This book is about David and he believes he was born in the wrong body and wants to be a girl. The book is all about him discovering who he is and telling his parents. I don’t want to say too much about this book because I think it is best to go into it blind. Don’t even read the blurb! This is one of the best books that I have ever read. It is insightful, interesting and heart wrenching. Everyone has to read this as it is so important to support the transgender community. As I said earlier, James Dawson recommended this novel, who came out as wanting to be a girl a few years ago. I will post a full review on my blog in the near future for those of you who have read it and want to hear my full opinions as it is difficult to talk about the book without sharing spoilers. My edition is also really special as it is signed and has an exclusive chapter in the back. If you want one of these special copies, head into your local Waterstones and try and pick one up. They are only available in Waterstones stores I’m afraid.

Finally, for purple we have If I Stay by Gale Forman. This follows Mia who plays the cello and falls in love with Adam who plays the guitar. They’ve spent the past year together, but now they have broken up. The book starts on a snow day and Mia and her family are going to visit some family friends. They are involved in a car accident and Mia is in a coma. The book goes through all the memories Mia has had in her life. I loved this book so much. It had some really funny elements, like when Mia and Kim put there school on Ebay. I also really liked the way Mia and Kim’s friendship was presented in this book. A perfect read to curl up with under a blanket on a cold day.

IMG_0421.JPG


So there you have it, there was this year’s book rainbow. Don’t forget to go and check Millie’s post out. Let me know what your book rainbows would be in the comments.

Happy Blogging! xx

One thought on “Collabmas Day 16 2016: Book Rainbows

Comments are closed.